Snow Day!

This past weekend, my husband and I had a great time in Waterbury-Stowe Vermont. He did some xc skiing, we visited a friend of his for the 😦 playoff game, and I enjoyed the fitness center and pool as well as used the computer and watched OMG! non-stop NCIS episodes! We were away from it all and left the work and world behind us.

So I was unprepared for the call this morning declaring a snow day.  I am not much for the television (except for NCIS reruns) so I never planned out this free day. If I had more information  I would have been more prepared and gone out to buy coffee and birdseed. I can’t stand seeing the empty feeder on a snowy day as I know my little friends have grown to depend on us to feed them. The coffee I took care of with the hotel sample packs that I brought home.

I had been quite relaxed and looking forward to a 4 day work week after our MLK weekend. Now, tomorrow will be a scramble. We need to reschedule our visit to Kevin’s class for the puppet shows and the Work Board will have to be changed to finish the week smoothly. When our week is shortened I have to remove the Fun Friday Arts and Crafts in favor of the big literacy work that must stay on track. The kids don’t seem to mind as they enjoy the Work Board activities but I mind. I think kindergarten has already gone too far down the roads of reading and writing. The explorations, discovery, language, and social skill building has taken a back seat to academics, as if the former were not a valid use of a student’s time.

So while I sit here blogging, listening to podcasts and live streamed broadcasts on ed topics, and find new folks to follow on Twitter, I reflect a bit more on my practice, on what is important to me, what I want to do more of, and how I can improve student learning. I engage others on Twitter and read lots of posts through my aggregators.

Enough of that! I simply must get up and do my daily workout. That’s one area that really benefits by a snow day. (Oh but I forgot to check out Fit 42 today! I simply must log my workouts this past weekend!)

What do you do on a snow day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

