Summertime, and the Learning Is Easy

Summertime!  Ahh the bliss.  It is the time I recharge and grab some new excitement for the next school year.

While this post is supposed to be a bit about me for The 2013 #Kinderchat Summer Blogging Challenge, it also speaks to the core of my philosophy as a professional and as a person.  I LOVE to learn! 

This summer, I am participating in the #clmooc on Google+.  It has meant the freedom to explore and learn in a safe community of interested people.  We all need to learn in a safe and exciting environment and that speaks to the kindergarten school experience.  We learn and we teach others to learn.  Whether we are in Hawaii, Australia, or Southampton, Massachusetts, we open our doors to new learners every year and when they leave, we want them to always be searching for more, more, more!ImageThis fall will be the beginning of year 13 (I think) in the kindergarten classroom, after 14 as a prek teacher (and a few more earlier years as a nurse.)  I am jumping into a whole new way of doing business this fall and I hope the learning follows along as I present a science based curriculum with everything else integrated into that.  I hope this experiment of mine works out as it really speaks to the teaching and learning experience I want to share.  Who cares that I have 3 years til retirement! I am still excited about my work.  Wish me luck!

5 Comments

Filed under #clmooc, teacher sites

5 responses to “Summertime, and the Learning Is Easy

  1. Congratulations on integrating a new curriculum focus into your classroom Gail! Your chick hatchings and science spin is so important not only to your classroom but to the Kinderchat community of classrooms. Good Luck and Thanks for sharing your reflections w us!

    • Thanks Heidi, I love sharing with the #kinderchat community. I may not make it to the actual chat but I catch all the good ideas I can and save them in scoop.it/kinderchat each morning.

  2. So glad to see you are still learning even with retirement around the corner. Isn’t it wonderful to still get up each morning, ready to go to school because of what you might learn once you get there. This is what keeps us young. (I’m entering my 53 year of teaching this year. I keep finding something new to learn.)

  3. I can’t wait to read more about your science centered curriculum. Sounds amazing! 🙂

  4. I too am just a “few” years from retirement and still LOVE to learn! I am looking forward to learning along with you!

Leave a Reply

